Bookshelves of a Bookworm #2

Hi all!

My name is Chiara and I am a Bookworm.

Yesterday I wrote to you and I told you about all the books I had bought yesterday and I hope on the most part it was well received.

Well, you seemed to like it.

I also said yesterday that I would go through the rest of the books that I bought so that you may know what to expect in the coming months.

Also last night after I posted I started reading The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. I’m really enjoying it so far. I read for 1 hour and 38 minutes and read 152 pages in that time, which works out at 0.6 mins/page and 93.0 pages/hour.

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Goodreads.com

Okay, so I know nothing about this book but I do know that a lot of you have been reading it and recommending it. I know that it is on the shortlist for Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2019. I also know that the blurb reminds me a lot of Ash Princess and Throne of Glass. It is definitely on my TBR list now!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.

Goodreads.com

So I know that many people love Leigh Bardugo but I haven’t read much of her work. In fact, I don’t think I’ve read any of her work at all. I bought Six of Crows when it was first out (I have it in hardback) but I’ve never read it. It is one of the many books that sits on my TBR shelf. I think I may have more books to that exist on that shelf than books that I have actually read.

Ink by Alice Broadway

Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora’s father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all.

Goodread.com

So this was another impromptu buy but I like the premise of the book. All your secrets tattooed on your skin for all the world to see. I think that sounds very interesting. I can’t wait to dive deep into this.

Okay, so that seems to be me done. This is a lot shorter than yesterday but I hope you enjoy it.

Next week I’ll start going through my own shelves not just new books. It will only be three or four books at a time, maybe five at most.

Once again, my name is Chiara and I am a Bookworm…

Leave a comment