Bookshelves of a Bookworm: Carriger – Carter

Hi all!

My name is Chiara and I am a Bookworm.

So each Monday we take a stroll through my bookshelves. Last week we finished with Meg Cabot. I have read a lot of Meg Cabot books, have I not?

This week is six books starting at Gail Carriger and ending with the beginning of toy collection of Ally Carter.


1. Etiquette and Espionage Gail Carriger

It’s one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It’s quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners–and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. 

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, young ladies learn to finish…everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but they also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage–in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year’s education.

Have I read this book? No

Will I read this book? I don’t know. Simplement answer is I don’t know if I will read this book. When I bought it it looked good, but now I’m not so sure.

2. Meet Me in Manhattan Claudia Carroll

In a New York minute, everything can change …

Holly Johnson is at a crossroads in her life. She wants to make it as a real journalist, and she’s dreaming of falling in love.

She’s so close to getting her break at work, and she’s met a very special guy. Well, she hasn’t actually met him … not yet. But everyone knows most relationships start online these days. And she’s on to a winner with this one. Isn’t she?

But something is not quite right with Andy McCoy – and he’s about to learn you don’t mess with Holly Johnson. She decides to fly to New York to find the truth.

Holly is about to get the shock of her life.

What she finds in Manhattan swiftly turns into a nightmare.

But maybe – just maybe – if Holly is true to herself, she can turn this nightmare into a dream come true …

Have I read this book? No

Will I read this book? Probably not. I don’t even really know why I kept this book when I did my recent re-organisation and purge.

3. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland Lewis Carol

After a tumble down the rabbit hole, Alice finds herself far away from home in the absurd world of Wonderland. As mind-bending as it is delightful, Lewis Carroll’s 1865 novel is pure magic for young and old alike.

Have I read this book? No

Will I read this book? Yes, I really want to read this. I keep telling myself I will read this and then there are so many new books that just keeping jumping on the TBR list in front of them.

4. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You Ally Carter

Cammie Morgan is a student at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, a fairly typical all-girls school-that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses but it’s really a school for spies. Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, or track him through town with the skill of a real “pavement artist”-but can she maneuver a relationship with someone who can never know the truth about her? 

Cammie Morgan may be an elite spy-in-training, but in her sophomore year, she’s on her most dangerous mission-falling in love.

Have I read this book? Yes. Loved every second of it. Couldn’t put it down.

Will I read this book again? Oh yes. I have been craving reading this series again for a while. It will be great to go back and re-read and review this, especially now that I’m older.

5. Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy Ally Carter

Cammie Morgan is back, and it’s clear that her life hasn’t calmed down since the events of I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You. At first, giddy anticipation is in the air. Gallagher Academy, Cammie’s elite spy school, is hosting a visit from a covert training center for boys. Soon after the boys’ arrival, though, everything goes dangerously awry when a series of security breaches are discovered at the academy. Worse yet, teenage agent-in-training Cammie is being blamed for the penetration. With the school’s top-secret status at risk, the Gallagher Girls have to work quickly to save their beloved school.

Have I read this book? Yes, and it is so much better than the first.

Will I read this book again? Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. As I said beforeI want to go back and re-read the entire series

Leave a comment