Bookworm NOT in Paris: The Changing of the Seasons

Hi all!

My name is Chiara and I am a bookworm, just in case you have all forgotten.

It feels a bit like I’ve forgotten.

I haven’t done much reading since I last spoke to you in September and I want to apologise for being absent without telling anyone where I was going.

It wasn’t my intention to disappear though I knew I needed to slow down before I went completely crazy.

My intention was to only write about books I really wanted to read for a little while rather than concentrating on the newest releases and then my reading habits dropped off, though I have got a book currently in my reading pile that I’m hoping to finish but I don’t want to jinx it by telling you all what it is.

But let me move on this post isn’t meant to be all about me not reading. It meant to be about the real world for once.

Where I live comes into tier 3 lockdown on Friday and though I am still going out a little as possible, particularly when I have to go to work, I am still seeing changes around me.

Autumn is settling in. The leaves are changing and everywhere I walk seems to be covered in them. I am anticipating mud the next time it rains, but in the mean time it all looks so beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever been so in love with the colours of autumn before. They are spectacular adding colour to what has been a very bland, colourless year.

And, on another note, the shops are preparing for Christmas.

I went out one evening this week to do some shopping with my mum, and to buy some chocolate. I needed chocolate! And I couldn’t help but notice that Christmas seemed to be everywhere.

They had snowflakes on the window and Christmas crackers inside. They even had all the Christmas candles on display (which smelled amazing!).

Can someone remind them that we’ve not even had Halloween yet?!

My father is right (and don’t tell him I said that) but Christmas does come earlier each year.

I know that the Christmas period, which apparently begins in October, is an important time for shops and particularly high street shops as it is when they will earn most of their profit for the year by selling our Christmas presents and this year will be particularly hard for them with the restrictions that are in place. But by starting earlier do they think it will go easier?

The organised Christmas shopped that I know started ordering stuff in June and hiding it … somewhere and the unorganised ones, like me, haven’t even begun to think about it.

But I’m thinking about it now.

Is it like this where you are, wherever you are in the world?

Well, Happy Christmas and Happy Halloween. According to the shops these occasions come together and I hope the seasons go well for you.

Keep well and keep safe, and until next time …

HAPPY READING!

Leave a comment