Browsing Britain’s Bookshops: The Stripey Badger Bookshop, Grassington

Hi all!

My name is Chiara and I am a Bookworm.

I’ve been enjoying writing these posts almost as much as I have been enjoying visiting the bookshops. Almost.

This week’s bookshop was part of a series of shops we all did in one day. Bookshop Tours of Britain by Louise Boland arranges the shops into some quite cohesive tours, but to do them in one day is a little too long so we split them up and mixed them up slightly to work better for us.

I have to say that The Stripey Badger Bookshop is my favourite named bookshop that I’ve been to so far. I wouldn’t say that the name had much to do with the decoration of the store. It was very light and airy, pale blue walls and white shelves. There was a café attached to the shop, which I didn’t get to try because we were on a bit of a time frame, but it looked really good.

The store definitely had a unique personality, aided by the lovely staff. The lady that I talked to was really knowledgeable. I was browsing and I pulled down a book that I thought might be interesting and the staff member who was floating about saw what I was looking at and said she couldn’t recommend it enough. She said she’s expected the book to be very chick-lit however it wasn’t what she expected and a lot more serious than she expected. Between her recommendation and the blurb I had to buy it.

I love it so much when staff know what they’re talking about. I told her about the book and that was where I found the shop, and she said we were the second person she’d had in that day that had come because of the book. We even discussed the other shops I was going to visit that day and she spoke so highly of all of them.

If you are ever passing through that part of the world, I would almost insist that you go in and visit The Stripey Badger Bookshop. Grassington is a beautiful town with plenty of little cafes and the most gorgeous of bookshops.

Remember to check out their website to find out more about them. They aren’t currently running any events, but they hope to soon. Also check out their bookshop.org page and maybe set them as your favourite bookshop to help them receive more commission.

Leave a comment