Husband Material by Alexis Hall | Book Review

Hi all my Bookworms!

It’s been just over a month since this book was released and I have finally got round to writing a review about it. This may be my favourite new release of the year. I could hardly put the book down and I had some very weird looks off my co-workers as I laughed at a book. They aren’t readers, they don’t understand.

This book, as far as I am aware, was never meant to be. Luc and Oliver’s story should have finished with book one, but I am so glad that Hall has given us a sequel. However this really is a series you have to read in order. If you haven’t read Boyfriend Material, I recommend you start reading.

I hope you enjoy my review and please leave a like and let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Husband Material by Alexis Hall

Goodreads | Waterstones

Husband Material starts about two years after Boyfriend Material left off. Oliver and Luc, our adorable couple, are practically living together, even though they both have their own places. Both re happy in their jobs and Oliver has even finally made the leap and gone vegan. Much has changed in the past two years, and yet very little has changed either. If you want to find out how Oliver and Luc got to this point, you need to go back and read book one.

Our characters go to four very different weddings through the book, and even a funeral as they try to find their own way down the aisle.

One of my favourite things about Hall’s work is the variety of people that he includes in her work. She includes people from all walks of life, including a few members of the peerage, and sometimes it feels like he tries to tick off as many members of the rainbow as she can, but I think that is better representation than you’ll find in most books. You’ll find gay couples, hetero couples, hetero appearing couples (but don’t forget, not everything is as it appears), and also a polyamorous relationship.

He does the same with the weddings. He tried to portray as many different types of wedding as possible from the gay, all-out-pride style wedding, full of rainbows and drag queens/fancy kings, to the overly traditional, high class society wedding in a cathedral with all the bells and trimmings.

Oliver and Luc try to arrange their own wedding in the midst of these events and try to find the balance between Luc’s pride, rainbow balloon arch preferences, to Oliver’s traditional, the-wedding-he-grew-up-with ideas.

I absolutely adore the ending, which I’m not going to go into any details about because I don’t want to spoil the book for those of you who are going to go away and read it, but it was very thought provoking, and I ended up discussing it for about a week with my mum after I’d read it.

Overall I would say that it deserved every single one of those ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ that I gave it. I’m not going to pull it to pieces and nit pick to find things I didn’t like. I loved it! And I must say that there were many, many points where I laugh out loud, and I honestly couldn’t put it down.

Leave a comment